I think I’m running out of handkerchiefs

You know what’s sadder than trying to take care of a baby while fighting a cold? Tiny baby coughs. Oh, the heartbreak! But she doesn’t fully have it yet, so I’m holding out delusions that she won’t catch it, and it’s not that bad anyways and I’m practically all better already even if I am a little worse than yesterday, but hey, she won’t get it anyways because it’s not like I touch her ever. Or, you know, she spends 5 hours a day with my hands in her mouth. Nothing like that. She’ll be fine.

My sinuses are so full right now it’s not even funny. This is an awesome way to start off Housewife, Round 4. Only this time, there’s no firing me later, because I will not only be Housewife, but Stay-At-Home-Mom.

Cause that’s not weird to say.

Monday, Ben starts a full-time job, which means I join millions of women in trying to figure out what the hell to do with a tiny baby solo for 8-10 hours a day. I know I should consider myself really lucky to have had Ben around for the first four months, and we won’t be able to do anything that awesome for Baby #2. But man, caring for a baby just isn’t a one-person job, and it just sucks so much that our society turns it into one.

This is going to be a crazy ride, possibly the hugest step we’ve ever taken, and it’s going to turn our lives upside-down. But you know what? Despite the congestion and the tiny baby sneezes and coughs, I think it just might be a change for the better.

Posted on February 8, 2013, in Megan's Musings. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Greetings to Ivy, Megan and Ben:
    Congratulations on parenthood and your dumpster-avoiding employment. The simulations are a pretty exciting learning tool, and parenting is just plain fund. We tried some simple minded simulations to train medical staff to talk about cancer screening, and used 2nd Life figures to simulate the people. It was fun, but we never tested it formally. Glad you are pushing the envelope. Hope you can test it’s effects too. Best wishes.

Leave a comment