Changing Identities, Part 382

Our little Sproutling has decided that, at four months, she is now old enough to sleep on her own, for brief periods of time. That means for (possibly) one 2 hour daytime nap in the swing or pack ‘n play (but I still have to hold her for the other one), and then from her bedtime (9pm) to ours (11:30-12ish), I have a baby monitor instead of a baby. Weird.

So, first, an update on yesterday’s pie. The crust is definitely too thin, and the whole thing looks like crap. But the flavor is great and the seminole squash is sooooo silky. And the whole recook the pumpkin/temper the eggs/strain out the clumps is clearly unnecessary. Take that, America’s Test Kitchen. I have officially perfected my pumpkin pie recipe. Now if only I can remember that for next year.

I make no promises on regular updates to this here blog thing, but I will try. See, I envision having  a lot more to talk about over the next few months as Big Things Are Afoot (again). Ben is on the hunt for a for-real full time job, and that puts me yet again staring Housewife right in the face. Only this time, it’s not just Housewife, it’s Stay-At-Home-Mom. I need to parse out what that looks like still, but suffice to say, there is a lot churning around in my skull right now.

Posted on January 29, 2013, in Megan's Musings. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

